January

10 Feb

Hi lovelies!

January passed in the blink of an eye. That’s what everyone always says, right?

I feel like January lasted approximately nine years. But I do have some faves to share with you!

Too Faced Shadow Insurance -£17

Now, I don’t think this is my Holy Grail Eyeshadow Primer. I’m not floored by it. But it’s tacky enough that my shadows stay in place, it works well with a shimmer, and my crease has never looked better with this stuff on the lid. The reason it’s a fave is because when you mix it with concealer, it becomes the perfect budge-free base. Props to Too Faced for making just a good team player product. Plus, this is the mini size that you get free with most palettes or Too Faced value sets, and it’s lasted me maybe four months so far!

Nars ‘Anita’ Audacious Lipstick – £24

Oh, Anita. This is my one and only Audacious lipstick, and let me tell you, they are worth the hype. I’ve never tried anything as rich and creamy as this. I’ve been loving dabbing this all over the lip and then working it in with my finger, like a stain. It’s also one of those rare lippies that look better the longer you wear them. The closest formula to these is probably the Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lipsticks, but they’ve got a bit more slip, and slightly less staying power. It’s actually baffling how Nars managed this formula. Full colour with one swipe, you can’t go wrong picking up your signature shade. Just don’t go falling in love with the whole line, ok? At £24 a pop, you’ll be using the little money flying away emoji all day, every day.

IMG_4317

Caudalie Beauty Elixir – £11.50 for 30ml

I have an unhealthy obsession that I’m trying to deny with this stuff. Which is why I keep getting the travel size. *breathes heavily* During my January no-buy (yes, you heard that right, and we’ll get to that later), this was the only product I considered caving for. It’s just fab. It’s so refreshing, and it pulls a look together when your face is looking a bit powdery. My problem is that I use it after primer, then foundation, then powder, and you really only need it once. Sigh. *heads to spacenk.com*

Yves Saint Laurent Face Palette Collector – Gypsy Opale – £42.50

You know, I’m imaging the scenario in the YSL product development offices.

‘Ok, UK pricing. I’m thinking around the £40 mark. What do you guys think?’

‘Oh, no no. It just must be £42.50. The 50p is the most important part. It makes it feel luxe.’

I wish that brands wouldn’t do that, especially when it comes to luxury brands. But I may just be able to forgive YSL. After not being able to get my hands on the Dior Glowing Gardens highlighting powder (I searched high and low, cried etc.), I can’t compare the two. But this is such a gorgeous finishing powder, especially for lighter skin. As someone who’s really fair, no seriously, even Becca’s Opal is too dark for me, I sometimes can struggle to find a powder that’s flattering for my skin-tone, especially as I’m really dry. This is such a great way to finish a paler face.

images

The 100 Season 3- E4/The CW

THE 100 IS BACK! IT’S BACK! -Me to anyone that will listen

After a stellar first two seasons, The 100 is back for S3 on The CW. It’s back in the UK on Feb 17, but my hopes are that Raven continues to be badass, Clarke and Bellamy realise they’re meant to be, and for Jaha to die. Watch the show, you’ll understand! It’s really clever, brutal, violent and actually has it’s characters go through crappy situations and come out the other side (or not, soz dead characters) having been affected by the stuff that’s happened. For example, in one episode a character jumped off of a mountain ledge. In the next two or three episodes, her face was all scratched.  Consequence and continuity! Hoorah.

imgres

Pop Culture Happy Hour – Wherever you get your podcasts

I’ve become a real podcast person, and this is by far my favourite. The PCHH team are always on hand with commentary and thoughts on the latest pop culture phenomenon, the pop culture that’s made a difference in their lives, or (throwback) a bit of German art-song. ‘Tony Awards and Shared Songs’ is downright fantastic, and ‘Empire and Public Radio Voices’ features two of my favourite voices that guest on the show. Give it a listen!

That’s it for the month. As I mentioned, I was on a no-buy for the whole of January. No beauty products for myself, whatsoever. And I’m still going! I’ve used up two foundations, a powder, a bunch of sample skincare products and a whole lipstick. An entire lipstick you guys! That’s a big deal!

Hope February is being good to you.

Have a great day/evening, wherever you are!
blog signature

2 Responses to “January”

  1. pehge February 10, 2016 at 5:52 pm #

    have you tried the urban decay primer potion? It’s awesome!
    I just finished watching the second season of the 100 and I had no idea that they started a third season…YASS

    • bonjourchristie February 10, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

      I have! I love it but hate buying the full size- I just squeeze the samples into a little pot every now and then! I love The 100 so.much. Bellamy ❤ x

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

