Review: Soap and Glory’s ‘One Heck Of A Blot Instant-Perfecting Power Primer’

3 Sep

Hi lovelies!

Lately, I’ve really been looking at my makeup collection and really assessing the strong and weak points. Like a mid-year evaluation of some sort. The outcome was pretty surprising…I have over 20 foundations and BB/CC creams, but only three primers, none of which I’m particularly in love with.
So on a little trip to Boots the other day I picked up the Soap and Glory ‘One Heck Of A Blot Instant-Perfecting Power Primer’, which I’m pretty sure is brand new, as I had a little google in Boots, and couldn’t find ANYTHING about this baby.

IMG_3869IMG_3870

The tube resembles a Clinique Superprimer tube, but it has a silky matte finish that makes it seem much more expensive than it was. It has a screw lid and a little pointy nib, like a TooFaced primer.

IMG_3873

Now, it says on the tube that you can wear it over makeup, but I’m not sure that’s the best way to use this product. It’s best used underneath a foundation or BB/CC cream. I’ve worn it for two whole days under a CC cream and then a foundation, and it’s really good value for money, in my opinion. When you apply it to the face, it has a really nice cooling effect, which makes me wish that Soap and Glory had released it just a bit earlier when the prospect of good weather was actually possible! πŸ™‚ It’s immediately smoothing and leaves the skin ever ever so slightly tacky, but not at all uncomfortable. It claims to have a 12 Shine-Bloc technology, and I have to say that I agree with that claim. My dewy CC cream stayed pretty solid throughout the day, just slightly fading in the evening, and my T-Zone was only ever so slightly oily. With the foundation, I mostly noticed how the pores on my nose were reduced. It feels like the perfect mix of Benefit’s Porefessional and TooFaced’s Hangover RX primer. I sometimes can find that the Porefessional is a little too heavy for my face, and the TooFaced only will work when I’m going for a specific look, but the Soap and Glory is delightfully perfect for any base you want to pop on.

IMG_3874

Swatched on the back of my hand, it is translucent, a little like a Smashbox primer.

So it’s a thumbs up from me! I’m hoping that Soap and Glory release a tinted version, or maybe an illumating version next! That would probbably be amaaaazzing.

You can pick this up exclusively from Boots, and it’s priced at Β£10.

Have a wonderful day/evening, wherever you are!

blog signature

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

