Skincare Spotlight: My (Nearly) Empties

21 Aug

Hi lovelies!

So, I have a confession to make.

I’m a skincare hoarder.

There, I said it.

Fortunately, this little habit of mine only really applies to miniature and deluxe-sized products, but it’s become a poinf of contention in my house, and my sister challenged me not to buy any skincare until I’d used up a considerable amount of what’s in ‘skincare station’, as we call it.

IMG_3804

IMG_3806

Philosophy’s Full of Promise is a creamy moisturiser that can sometimes get a little greasy on my oily T-Zone, but is nice to use on my cheeks for a little bit of smoothness or hydration before putting on makeup.

Would I buy the full size?
Not at £50! I think that most moisturisers do similar things unless they’re really something special, so I’m not too attached to this one at the moment.

IMG_3807

Ren’s Keep Young and Beautiful Instant Firming Beauty Shot is a light gel-like serum that you can use before moisturiser or as a standalone treatment on clean skin. You can see in the picture that it can get bubbly, it’s very slippy but I didn’t feel like it sank in particularly quickly.

Would I buy the full size?
I have to cheat on this one, because I actually have a second sample that’s slightly bigger, so I’m gonna use that up and see whether it makes any difference in the long term. If I had to decide now, I’d say no. Another hefty price tag of £36 for 30ml just puts me off.

IMG_3808

Caudalie’s Vinosource Crème Sorbet Hydratante is a light, airy moisturizer with a bizarre texture. It’s not like the few other sorbets that I’ve tried, and it’s more like a moisturizer mixed with a serum. It has a really light, pleasant scent.

Would I buy the full size?
Probably not, but only because I have so many more moisturising products that I like a bit more. This is way more affordable than the other products on this list, coming in at £23 for 40ml.

IMG_3809

GlamGlow’s YouthMud Tinglexfoliate Treatment is a mud mask that you can apply on problem areas in order to give your pores a deep clean, leave your skin exfoliated and smoother and tightens and tones the skin. I have this diddy sample size that got me about three liberal applications to my T-Zone, a slightly bigger pot, and the full sized version of this.

Would I buy the full size?

Yes, yes, yes. This stuff is great for when you’re having a bad skin day, or you just want a pamper sesh. It’s pricy, which is annoying, coming in at £50 for 50g, but the best thing to do is buy the gift sets around the December holiday season, you usually can get a full size lus a few deluxe samples of GlamGlow’s other products.

IMG_3805

Clinique’s Smart Custom Serum is a creamy serum that sinks into the skin instantly, and claims to sort out uneven skin tone and wrinkles. This is the star of the show, in my opinion. It’s the product that I’ve noticed makes the most difference to my skin, and it smells gorgeous.

Would I buy the full size?

I wish. This stuff is on par with Creme de la Mer in price tag. For £110 you can get a 100ml size. *faints* That’s a lot of money for not an awful lot of product. I’m gonna see whether Clinique release any limited edition holiday sets with sample sizes of this, because I need my fix, but I don’t have the cash to throw around on serum…no matter how good it is. 😦

So after nearly finishing off all these samples, I still have this to get through.
IMG_3810And a ton of full sized skincare too. Whoops.

Hope you have a lovely day or evening, wherever you are in the world!

blog signature

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

