Review: Tarte’s ‘Poppy Picnic’ Palette + Swatches

19 Aug

Hello lovelies!

Another day, another beauty post! Buuuut this time it’s something really exciting. IT’S TARTE!

As a UK based beauty blogger, Tarte is really pretty difficult to come by. About a year ago, QVC started to sell Tarte, but their product range is quite limited and varies from month to month as they sell out and get new stock, so you can’t quite rely on the website. Also, ordering from Sephora US poses a few challeneges as some items don’t ship and the tax and shipping costs come to almost Β£20 on any order.

So a few months ago, when I saw the Poppy Picnic palette pop up on QVC’s Beauty section, I literally jumped at the chance to get my mitts on it. It was on advanced orders, which basically means you’re in limbo until they’ve shipped out all the orders before you. After over a month of waiting, I finally got the email confirmation…it was on the way. *screams*

It’s pretty obvious why I wanted it.

IMG_3772

IMG_3773

*drools*

It has six shadow shades that all are matte, and one shimmery blush. And when I say shimmery, I mean glitterball shimmery. This is a summer or a night-time bush for me. It does make you glow though, and I’m partial to a coral cheek. πŸ˜‰ I would say that it lasts a good amount longer than some other blush formulas I’ve tried, like Rimmel or Maybelline’s new Creme Puffs. It’s comparable to Nars blushes.

IMG_3778

IMG_3775

The swatches are absolutely representative of the quality of these shadows. They are PHENOM. Genuinely. I’d say the formula is a mix of Lorac shadows and maybe EstΓ©e Lauder shadows, or the benefit singles. If you’ve swatched a Lorac shadow, then you’ll know that they’re soft to the point of breaking apart when you tap them with a flat shader. This makes them gorgeous over the top of a silicone primer, or beautiful to blend, but when it comes to pigment, sometimes the matte shades can suffer.

The shadows in the palette are smooth and silky, but pack a good old pigment wallop, and they blend SO well. I was so chuffed when I realised that the beautiful flowery outside was just hiding a smooth, blendable shadowy centre.

So you can probably tell, it’s a thumbs up from me!

Have a lovely day/evening, wherever you are!

blog signature

3 Responses to “Review: Tarte’s ‘Poppy Picnic’ Palette + Swatches”

  1. laurajoli August 19, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

    Swoon!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review: Tarte’s ‘Be Your Own Tarteist’ Palette + Swatches | Bonjour Christie - September 5, 2015

    […] picking up the Poppy Picnic palette from Tarte a few weeks ago, I found myself stalking the QVC UK website in order to see whether any […]

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

