My Big Move

8 Nov

Hello lovelies!

After a very long absence, I’m back. I’m definitely guilty of procrastinating…but 5 months?! I apologise! :O Not a lot has changed, apart from, you know, where I live. I moved to France! Eeeeep! For those of you who are unfamiliar with this little pet project of mine, I’m currently a university student at Royal Holloway, University of London – and studying French and Drama. Third years have to undertake a year abroad, and I’m spending mine in Bayonne, which is in the South-West of France. Firstly, it’s gorgeous. Seriously beautiful. But secondly…it’s terrifying. Oh my goodness, so so terrifying. Moving to university didn’t really phase me at all, I was so eager to get out of school that I jumped at the chance to be more independent, wherever it was. But after two years there, not only have I come to love my university setting, but also appreciate my hometown SO MUCH MORE. Has this happened to anyone else? Add a dash of homesickness to an overwhelming language change, and you get a pretty scary environment. However, after six weeks here, I can honestly say that I’m starting to feel at home. I’m working in two schools as a language assistant with kids aged 10-22 for twelve hours a week. I thought I’d share a few pictures of the area I live in – happy to report that there is a Sephora and plenty of French pharmacies around – watch out for a blog post on Sephora findings a little later in the month.

The view from my back window - not even kidding! Bayonne Cathedrale.

The view from my back window – not even kidding! Bayonne Cathedrale.

Cute little back streets on Sundays are beautiful :)

Cute little back streets on Sundays are beautiful šŸ™‚

Parts of the cathedral - a must see.

Parts of the cathedral – a must see.

DSCN2277

Excuse the blurriness, but this is me and Noa, a Spanish assistant from a town about an hour from Bayonne. We went to dinner with two other assistants in a little creperie about a minute's walk from my apartment.

Excuse the blurriness, but this is me and Noa, a Spanish assistant from a town about an hour from Bayonne. We went to dinner with two other assistants in a little creperie about a minute’s walk from my apartment.

And this one. The cathedral again. I could have spent all day here, just reading.

And this one. The cathedral again. I could have spent all day here, just reading.

So there we go. A few life updates since July – I finished work at Legoland after a really long summer that was challenging and incredibly fun. I’m definitely going to be heading back there at the beginning of fourth year, there’s nothing quite like it.
I also turned twenty! Eeeeep. Twenty is a weird age. I definitely feel like I’m in adult-limbo. Someone told me I was in my twenties the other day and I nearly shouted ‘NO I’M NOT’ at them before realising that it’s true. Ergh.
I also bought my first bottle of Bioderma. Big changes guys, big changes.

So, please tell me what you’ve been loving, life updates, and what you want to see from me on the blog.

I feel like this blog can legitimately be called BonjourChristie now. I’ve got some kind of pseudo-French credibility.

Hope you’re having a wonderful day or evening, wherever you are!
blog signature

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

