Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Amsterdam’ + Swatches!

4 Mar

Hello lovelies!

I’m so excited that this little product is now in my life. Even though I’m not always a red lip kinda gal, you always have to have that one colour just in case. I definitely have more than one red lip product (beauty blogger problems, am I right?) but if the situation presents itself, this might just be the one I reach for. 

Image

 

Packaging: The tube is pretty travel-friendly, a hard plastic that is durable and nice and sleek. I like the font on the outside…is that a weird thing to notice? Haha!

Image

Wand: The wand is pretty standard, a doefoot applicator. Not sure whether that’s the best method of application of this product though, as your initial application can be a bit patchy (as my terrible lip swatch suggests).

Image

Pigmentation: Amsterdam is gorgeous. literally stunning. The pigmentation is pretty solid, I’d give it 8/10, just because you have to work with the formula a bit to get full coverage on your lips.

Image

Lasting power: I wore this for a good 4 hours without having to reapply. I reapplied on the go, between lectures with a little compact mirror. Totally fine. In fact, it actually looked better on the second application! Bizarre, huh?!

Image

It’s definitely a little more sheer than a standard lipstick. It’s very creamy, not at all drying on the lips. I find that’s a big plus, it feels more comfortable when you wear it than a lip gloss or lipstick. I’d put it on similar terms as a balm even!

Image

My look for the day was pretty natural. I skipped bronzer and blush and put on A LOT of mascara. This product is certainly a little gem. I’m gonna have to play a little bit more to be able to apply it perfectly. Red still flummoxes me when I have to apply it. I get so nervous about getting it wrong, that I always get it wrong!

I’m already planning on picking up a few more shades from this range when I get paid at the end of this month…so yeah, I would definitely recommend checking these out if you can!

If you’re in the UK like me, you can pick up the Soft Matte Lip Creams from the NYX website for £5.50.

if any of you have tried other shades, let me know in the comments which ones are the best! I need suggestions! 🙂

So there you go! Today is pancake day, a.k.a the best day in the world, however, I shall be neglecting the Nutella and opting for just a lil’ bit of sugar instead. I’ve been on a diet for the last month or so, and it’s going really well! I’ve lost just under a stone and a half so far…hoorah! 

Hope you are having lovely days or evenings, wherever you are!
Image

7 Responses to “Review: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in ‘Amsterdam’ + Swatches!”

  1. lipstickandkittens March 4, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    This, to me, is one of the best red lipsticks out there. It is such a beautiful color, and it lasts forever!

    • bonjourchristie March 4, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      Definitely lasts ages! I’m always a bit scared of red though, as I love coral and it’s so different. Timeless though 🙂
      Christie xoxo

  2. V March 5, 2014 at 12:31 am #

    I love this shade on you

  3. acasualbeauty March 5, 2014 at 4:50 pm #

    Looks great girl!

  4. charmaine April 25, 2015 at 1:27 pm #

    You nailed this look!

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

