I’m Having A Mascara Moment: YSL’s ‘Babydoll’

4 Mar

Hello lovelies!

It’s time for the second installment of the series called ‘I’m Having A Mascara Moment’, which is a mini review and demo on different mascaras that I own! The average girl might own three or four mascaras, and use one pretty regularly. Hopefully, by the end of the series I will have reviewed enough mascaras for you to make up your mind which one is the best. I might even rank them!

Each mascara is judged on five basic points.
Packaging, Lasting Power, Wand and Formula and Price.
The final mark will be out of 50, as each mascara can score up to 10 points per category.

What’s the story in Balamory today? (only my UK lovelies will get this!)

YSL’s ‘Babydoll’ Mascara

Packaging: 8/10

ImageOkay, so I could be cheating a bit here by not owning the full-size…but this mini is super cute. The full-sized product has the majestic packaging that you would expect from YSL, glossy gold tube, beautiful cursive font etc. but this baby is pretty fancy too!

Lasting power: 8/10
This baby stays on in my SLEEP. (Don’t judge me for accidentally falling asleep fully made up!) It’s not moving unless you take it off with eye makeup remover. Trust me.

Wand: 10/10
Image

Do you ever come across a product and think ‘this is what I’ve been looking for my whole life.’ This wand is my ultimate mascara wand. It looks pretty standard, but you’d be surprised how many mascaras I’ve tried that have had bristles that are too long, not long enough (Maybelline’s ‘The Rocket’, I’m looking at you) or not plastic, which is my number one requirement in a wand. Snaps for Babydoll.

Formula: 8/10
The formula is pretty solid. Not too wet, which is a big plus. Can clump a little the more coats you put on, but I noticed that it dries quite quickly, so clumps are avoidable.

Price: 4/10
The price of this makes me want to cry. £24.50? *distant sobbing and wallet quivering in anticipation*

Before/After

Image

*shameless selfie alert*

Image

Pyjama day anyone? 🙂
Image

Final Verdict: 38/50

So so impressed. Please let this sample last forever so that I don’t have to shell out that much money for a mascara…. 😦

I hope you all are having great days/evenings, wherever you are!
Image

3 Responses to “I’m Having A Mascara Moment: YSL’s ‘Babydoll’”

  1. karisbeauty March 10, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    Wow, this mascara looks amazing, your lashes looks so nice, I have used YSL mascara in the past and loved them, but not tried this one. KB xx
    http://Www.beautybykaris.com

    • bonjourchristie March 21, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

      Aww thankyou lovely! I think I will end up caving and buying the full size- even my They’re Real hasn’t been performing as well as this!
      Christie xoxo

  2. beautybychick May 6, 2014 at 5:19 am #

    Ooh… I’m currently loving They’re real too, but i’m liking the look of this!

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

