GlossyBox: September 2013

18 Sep

Hello lovelies!
I received my first GlossyBox in the post yesterday and I am SO excited about it! This month the theme was ‘London Edition’, probably to coincide with LFW, and my oh my, the box was beautiful!

ImageHow cute is that Union Jack?

ImageOnto the products!

ImageImage

Toni & Guy is a brand that I’m pretty familiar with, but I haven’t tried this serum yet. It’s full-size (I think), has a nice, hair producty-scent, and is not so liquidy that it slides off your fingers before you get it on your hair. Will definitely have to try it with my hair actually ‘done’.

ImageThis little perfume sample is unlike many of the samples that often are included in beauty boxes. It’s like a sample that comes in a coffret, rather than a teeny tiny spray bottle that doesn’t really give you an idea of whether you want to buy the full size or not. Don’t get me wrong, those teeny-tiny bottles, I welcome them with open arms, but this is so much better! Elizabeth Arden is a luxury brand that I wouldn’t necessarily venture to of my own volition, but this floral scent is super light and feminine, perfect for transitioning into autumn. GlossyBox also have given every person who receives a box a free skin consultation and a free body moisturiser to match the perfume. I think they get me. I just like the freebies. 😉

ImageDefinitely heard the hype about this product! When I opened the box, my friends were over and the name did illicit a few giggles from them, I must say. Something like this is perfect for the colder months because my lips get really chapped) minds out of the gutter, people) and it’s a really intense, nourishing formula. I did a little extra research on the ‘Dr.Lipp’ brand, and it’s medically tested to be one of the safest products on the market in terms of allergies and it is also helps to heal things like burns and eczema, which makes this not only a handy product, but for some people a confidence-boosting one. Burns or eczema in places that are easily visible can reduce people’s self-confidence and make them feel anxious or nervous in public. Something that helps that gets a big thumbs up in my book. The sample is small though, so you would have to buy a full-size relatively quickly if you decided that you liked it.

ImageSome lashes for me are probably not the best thing as I am a. very very very bad at applying them, and b. very picky about what I wear. However, these ones are super nice, very subtle, relatively easy to apply (I think I need more practice) and have not bothered me since I applied them at about 11am. They look so natural. I did cut them into half-lashes to get more than one use but they would only need a little trim for most eyes I think. I like that GlossyBox included a brand that I knew too!

ImageThis is a liquid eyeliner from the US (I thought this was the London box?!) brand ‘Be a Bombshell’. It’s a basic, black felt-tip liner. I will say one thing a little bit negative about it… The nib of the liner is so big! When I applied it to my upper lash line it felt as if it was covering my whole eye. It produces a pretty thick line as a result. I think it’s pretty cool that GlossyBox included a US brand that isn’t readily available in UK drugstores, but I think there are other liners from the UK market that impress more. That being said, I understand that GlossyBox makes deals with companies that are not always familiar with us in the UK, so I’m willing to give this baby another shot. 🙂

The total value of this box was £27.81. Approximately. I had to do some dollar converting.

So that’s my GlossyBox! The first one! EEEEP! I’m excited to get my next one and keep testing out these products, I don’t know about you, but there’s something about samples that just excites me! I did hear that some people got a Rimmel ‘Stay Blushed’ blusher or an HD Brows kit, but I think that the variety in boxes makes it more of a surprise! 

Today I’m just going to Skype my friend Kent who’s getting ready to return to the UK for her last year at Uni here (she’s in the US at the mo, so jel…miss you Kent!) and get prepped for going back to work tomorrow. It’s been a bit of a rough week in to be honest, so hopefully it gets a little better. Posts about my recent trip to Prague and a little FOTD coming soon!
Image

One Response to “GlossyBox: September 2013”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eyes of The Day: September Blues | totallychristie - September 20, 2013

    […] So there you go. I used Clinique High Impact Mascara and my new Bombshell Liquid Liner in Onyx. […]

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

