The Difference Make-Up Can Make

12 Aug

Hello lovelies!

This post is kind of a mix of an FOTD and a bit of motivation and inspiration.
For a few years now, I have loved make-up. Not just buying it, but applying it, wearing it, seeing it, looking at it, appreciating it. It’s kind of a funny love affair actually.

Make-up for me was initially peer oriented (not pressured). I just did it because it was the norm. My Mum was never into make-up and my sister was younger than me so nobody could teach me or help me. I usually wore a bit of mascara most days, and other days nothing at all. And then it changed. At 16, I saw a video online from emilynoel83, and started to value it, to understand the difference it could make.

Which brings me to my point. The other day my friend Dan was round my house before I put my make-up on. I don’t feel the need to wear make-up because I want to hide behind it, more like because it adds more to me in a confidence way. I’m pretty comfortable with being bare-faced around my friends. I came downstairs with my make-up bag about an hour after he arrived, and started putting my make-up on. He said to me,

‘What’s the point? You look the same anyway.’

Don’t get me or him wrong, he meant it as something genuine and kind.
I just smiled and said,

You’ll see.’

When I finished off, he said to me,

I get it now. You look really nice.’

I think a lot of people who don’t get the cosmetics industry make assumptions and snap decisions about who the people who are involved with it are. But when you love make-up, in any way, it’s just so invigorating to be transformed. For me, I get confidence and a hobby. I feel happier when I have ‘my face on’, and you can see it. Just like my friend Dan did.

This photo is a pre-makeup photo, obviously.
ImageThis is an after shot.

ImageI‘m wearing Stila’s ‘Kitten’ on my eyes, and Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in ‘Honey’ on my lips.

I don’t know about you, but that second girl looks nothing like the first to me.

It goes without saying that make-up isn’t everything. After all, no amount of make-up will ever hide your true character or intelligence. But there’s something that captivates me about the beauty industry. A mascara won’t change your life overnight, and a concealer can’t hide everything, but if it makes you feel better about yourself then I think that’s all that matters.

Little message to help guide you there.

Have a lovely day/evening, wherever you are,
ImageImage

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

