Review: Rimmel’s Apocalips Lip Lacquer in ‘Stellar’

27 May

Image

Hello lovelies!

Got a little review for you today. This one’s perhaps a bit different, as I’ve never reviewed a lip product before, so I hope I do okay! A couple of months ago, there was some serious buzz, as there always is, about a brand new lip product from Rimmel. I must have read a good twenty blog reviews before I decided that these guys were going to be incredible, but that they just weren’t for me. I was wrong. 

Image

I originally went into the shop with no purchases planned but we all know how that goes. I saw that the Apocalips had a pound or so off, and went for it. Took the plunge. Ahhh! I picked up ‘Stellar’, a hot pink creme. 
ImageThe packaging is nice, black at the top with sort of, jaggedy edges and the colour fades to transparent so you can see the colour through it. It’s a doe-foot applicator, but it’s a little different in that the applicator manages to store some product inside itself. Weird, but not a bad thing! The lacquer itself is definitely scented. I’ve actually put off writing this blog post for a while because I’ve been trying to figure out what it smells like, no word of a lie! The best I’ve come up with is a mix between old-lady perfume and sugar paper, which I know sounds totally bizarre, but that’s all I can muster.
Image

Image

As for the application, it’s really easy but can get messy because the colour is so bright, as with many pigmented lip colours.
The lasting power is probably the only thing that bugged me. From other reviews, I kind of thought that you’d have to reapply every four hours or so. Nope. After about an hour, it looked like I’d lined my lips with a super bright pink and applied a lighter pink inside. If a product is going to be that bright, then just let it fade, not gather around your lips! Bearing in mind I’m young, and I don’t have fine lines or wrinkles (yet), I wouldn’t recommend this for the older lady. Neither would I recommend it for the ‘low-maintenance-lip’ lady. I do love the colour, but probably best for short events or ones where you can get to a mirror and reapply a lot.

Verdict: 3/5:
I’m relatively impressed with the colour and feel of this product, just the lasting power let it down. Still heart Rimmel though.

You can purchase Rimmel products from Boots, Superdrug, selected Tesco stores (and websites) and ASOS ship to the US for all my American readers who need a good Rimmel fix.

Have you had a good product that just didn’t last?

Today I saw my family for the first time in six weeks and we had lunch in Windsor by the Thames. So nice to see them and spend some quality time with them. I’ve been working really hard lately (and was supposed to be working today, but my manager was so kind and let me have the day off), and it’s been so lush to lay in and just have a nice, relaxing day and catch up. 😀
Image

4 Responses to “Review: Rimmel’s Apocalips Lip Lacquer in ‘Stellar’”

  1. Rebecca May 28, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    I keep picking this up and testing it and deciding against it because it looks so bright but it looks so gorgeous on you I may have to man up and give it a go! x

    • totallychristie May 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

      Aw thankyou so much Rebecca! I have a bit of a fear of bright colours too, but these ones just seem to be easier to wear! Definitely recommend checking one out! 🙂
      Christie xoxo

  2. fortheloveoflucie June 1, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    I really need to get one now thank you for choosing that colour as I love coral must must must pick one up ! Xx

    • totallychristie June 2, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Definitely would recommend them, but just be careful about reapplying! 🙂

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

