MUA: Trio Shadow – Review

19 Mar

ImageRecently, I went to a HUGE Superdrug at Westfield Stratford and purchased two of the MUA trios. MUA is a brand exclusive to Superdrug and the MUA website (muastore.co.uk), and prices are usually really, really cheap. These trios come in a range of shades, but I picked up the ones in ‘Innocence’ and ‘Pink Sorbet’.
Image

Image

Image

Image

These little trios are priced at £2.50 a pop.

I’ve been using them for a few weeks now, and I’ve got to say, I think it all comes down the the application. These shadows just do not do well with brushes. They don’t get on. I actually feel like the powder is so fine once loose that it can’t stick to any surface on your eyelid. I have tried using it with all the primers I own with brushes, and it doesn’t seem to work. The magic of these shadows is when you apply them with your fingers to your eyelids.    They appear exactly as they do in the swatches here, beautifully pigmented and ever so slightly shimmery (they’re definitely shimmer, not satin.)

I adore the gold in the ‘Innocence’ trio and the dark plummy colour in the ‘Pink Sorbet’ trio.

Verdict: 3/5
You get what you pay for if you use brushes. If not, you have some gorgeous highlights and strong evening colours that apply nicely with your fingers to your lids. The thing is, that all seems a bit of a faff doesn’t it?

Hope you’re having a wonderful day!
Christie xoxo
P.S. Please please leave a comment if you like the picture quality! I have a lovely shiny new camera and I spent a while snapping away today. 🙂

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

