Aside

HAUL :D

21 Oct

WELL WELL WELL. Look at this snazzy new look.

So, as I mentioned in the last post, it was my birthday while I was away. And I actually received money from my Dad and my Nan also, so I went on a bit of a shopping spree with one of my best friends, Beth. We went to our local ‘big’ shopping centre, had Pinkberry which was lush, got very stuck in huge amounts of traffic on the way back and spent too much money, as usual. Seeing as I’ve had these products for just over a month now, each will have a little mini-review in the caption for you 🙂 Here is a list and a few pictures of a few of the things I bought!

Image

Sally Hansen’s ‘Double Duty’ Base and Top Coat. Good for a clean, crisp finish. Can’t say I’ve seen huge benefits in using it as a base coat, but it’s a gorgeous top coat and much less expensive than some top coats that do similar things. A solid 3/5.

Image

MUA’s ‘Heaven and Earth’ Shimmer Eyeshadow Palette. £4 at Superdrug. Great colours and even better price! It’s supposed to be a high street answer to one of the infamous Urban Decay Naked Palettes. I mean, I’m impressed. The packaging’s relatively sturdy with no frills and I think you get a good deal for so many well pigmented colours. Another good 3/5…because it’s just not the same.

Image

Benefit’s ‘They’re Real’ Mascara- Full Size and a Deluxe Mini for £18.50. The most expensive make-up product I have EVER bought. But, this was my birthday present to myself. 🙂 I’m also glad that I picked it up when I did, because you got the free little mini size included. And that deal’s now over. 😦 I’ve gotta say, it is probably the best mascara I have tried. It lasts forever. Having said that, I haven’t tried many mascaras, and some of the high street alternatives that I have tried have come relatively close. I definitely don’t regret buying this, but do consider how pricy it is before you splurge on an item that you might not love to pieces. I have really very uneven eyelashes, and by that I mean that my right eyelashes are much fuller naturally than my left ones. So I like a mascara that can really separate what I have of my left eyelashes… this nearly does it. Another good 3, maybe 3.5/5. Because it’s Benefit.

Image

Lush’s ‘You Snap The Whip’ Body Butter. Oh my goodness. I have never loved the smell of something so much. We actually spent over an hour in Lush. Blame the over-attentive sales assistant. Om nom nom this smells like blackcurrants through and through. It lingers for just long enough on your skin, and I’m desperately trying to savour what I have left of it. It wasn’t expensive either. Go and check out the smell in your local Lush. It’s worth it. 5/5.

Image

Lush’s ‘Creamy Candy’ Bubble Bar. This was actually a gift to my sister. I hope she likes it because I think it smells ‘lush’. Aha. Get it? Is very lovely all around in the smell department, but I can’t tell you what I think of its actual function. I’m sorry! Maybe a guest post from my sister lol…

Image

The Real Techniques ‘Core Collection’ brush kit. Ouch, these were expensive. I justified the amount I spent in Boots that day by telling myself that I’d get loads of Boots Points. Hurrah! You get four brushes for around £21/£22. I’m not going to lie, they’re worth it and I really want more. But the thing is, they are so expensive. I just think that if you invest in anything in the beauty world, make-up brushes are the most important things. You can have an amazingly expensive high-end Chanel foundation, but without the right brush, it’s not going to be worth the money you spend.A good 4/5, and I’m only knocking off a point because they’re so expensive.

Image

The Real Techniques ‘Blush Brush’. This was SO SOFT. It still is. I use it as more of a powder brush though. It’s much less dense than blush brushes I’ve had in the past, but it’s definitely a much higher quality. This was actually around the £10 mark when I first looked at it, but I took advantage of a ‘buy one, get one half price’ deal that was on these brushes, so it was around £5 in the end. I actually use it for powder sometimes, but it’s very versatile, and I tested it against by old Barry M powder brush and the Barry M brush felt like it was scraping against my skin after using this bad boy. Another 4/5 though, because I still resent paying £26 on make-up brushes.

Image

Topshop’s Lipstick in ‘Ohh La La’. A pastelish coral. This is (I think) an almost matte finish lipstick. I received a Topshop giftcard for my birthday and seeing as I’m not interested in their clothing, I treated myself to two make-up items, as Topshop’s line of make-up has been gathering gusto recently in the beauty community and I wanted to see whether their products lived up to the hype. Review to come shortly, but spoiler alert. Big fan. 4/5.

Image

Topshop’s Cheek Duo in ‘Desert Sun’. A blusher and bronzer separately that when you mix together, can be used as a highlighter? Okay. I was intrigued. A nice 3/5. Review coming up.

Image

I always go back to Simple’s face wipes! 5/5, nice an gentle on the skin and take off more make-up at the £2 mark than the £7 No7 ones do.

Image

A cheeky picture of my friend Beth with a choccie milkshake. The best milkshakes ever are served at ‘Ed’s Diner’. There’s a few dotted about the country, so if you see one, run to a table.

Image

The damage we did in 6 hours. Oh dear. Our purses were much lighter.

Image

Pinkberry! I had Mango and Chocolate with chocolate bits and bobs, strawberries and pineapple. Beth had Watermelon with healthy things. Silly billy.

SO, there we go. That wasn’t too bad at all. I’ve got loads of posts planned, so hopefully I can get them up and running ASAP.
Don’t forget to smile,
Christie xoxo 🙂

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

