Haul!

23 Aug

Hello everyone!
I wanted to show you a few bits and bobs that I’d picked up over the past couple of weeks. I’ve had enough time to try them out now, so each shall have a little mini-review too! 🙂

Everything in this haul barring the bag can be found at Boots, Superdrug, Primark (instore only) and Amazon.

Accessorize Pansy Print Crossbody Bag- £6.60 in the Accessorize Sale

I saw this print in Louise’s (Sprinkle of Glitter) recent haul, and fell in love with it. She had a little clutch bag, and I looked for it but the Accessorize website is not the easiest to navigate, especially when you click on something and it immediately comes up with ‘out of stock’. Internet shopper’s worst nightmare. I love the size of this bag, the print is fantastic and it was a snip in the sale marked down from £22 to £6.60. There’s something so desirable about anything Accessorize to me, that I jump on the sale bandwagon when it rolls around. Having said all that though, after three weeks of using it, the lining has started to bobble a little bit. I might expect that from a £6.60 bag, but this was £22 originally. I have a Peacocks bag that has served me well for over 2 years and has not bobbled at all. Maybe Accessorize should take a look at that.

NYC Showtime Waterproof Mascara- available from Superdrug

I bought this because I have really watery eyes in the spring/summer and I need a reliable waterproof mascara. I’m impressed with what this does for the price (which I think is £1.99) and it coats my bottom lashes perfectly but it genuinely does nothing to my upper lashes. I feel so bad, because I love NYC products (especially their nail polishes) but I can’t get on board with this. I will definitely keep using it on my bottom lashes though, as it doesn’t irritate them (I’m looking at you Stila Forever Your Curl) and gives a nice smoky black colour.

Neutrogena Visibly Clear Make Up Remover Wipes- available at Superdrug

Oh dear. I bought these make-up wipes on a whim, hoping their price would make them live up to expectations (they are originally over £3, but I snapped them up when they were half price) and I just HATE THEM. These wipes are the first product I’ve ever tried from Neutrogena, and if it wasn’t for the next product (spoiler alert), I would never go back. The moisture on them is unevenly balances, they pull at my skin, the liquid stings my face when I use them (yes, stings) and if you get ANYWHERE near your eyes they burn for ages. Not my finest hour in Superdrug, but I suppose they’re one product I’ve eliminated from buying again.

Neutrogena Visibly Clear Oil-Free Moisturiser- available at Superdrug

Big fan of this moisturiser. It, again was half price in Superdrug and if you spent £5 or more on selected skincare you got 100 points on your Beautycard, which equals to a pound. Superdrug points are kind of more difficult to come by than Boots points, so I’d definitely look out for offers like this while in store. If you don’t have a Beautycard yet, then you’re definitely missing out! I spend pretty much all of my money in Superdrug (my friends and I joke that it’s my second home!) so it’s definitely worth it in my book. This moisturiser is light on my skin, fresh smelling, and most importantly for me in the summer, easy to blend with my foundation. I don’t mind wearing just foundation in the spring or winter, but in the summer and early-autumn, I make a point of mixing my foundation with a moisturiser and blending it into my skin. It saves money because you’re moisturising and getting coverage at the same time, and it’s lighter on your skin.

Natural Collection Concealer in Fair- available at Boots

A cult favourite, I picked up the Natural Collection concealer recently and I have to say I’m underwhelmed…so far. Maybe this is down to the fact that my skin hasn’t been in bad condition lately so I haven’t had any blemishes to conceal, but I actually bought this to try and help out with dark circles around my eyes and discolouration on my eyelids. You swipe it on, and for me,it just does nothing. I don’t even find it buildable, it’s very very sheer and…bubbly. Which is weird. I find that with a lot of products that have hype surrounding them that you can find you talk yourself into loving them. But often there’s a catch. I probably won’t buy this concealer again, as I’m struggling to use it… but I shall persevere. 😦 Sorry concealer, I feel bad dissing you.

Primark pastel sandals- £10

I’m in love with these sandals. I usually wouldn’t spend £10 on Primark shoes, but these were too cute to pass up. The pictures a little blurry, but they basically have three sets of crossover straps, one in a light minty green/blue, one lilac and one pastel baby pink. They’re really comfy and the pastel is going to be in for loads of years to come. I’ve worn them three or four times to far and there’s been no rubbing or blisters, and my feet don’t hurt. I did go a size up as there wasn’t my size (7), but I try shoes on before I buy them and they fit nicely. A nice surprise for Primark! Bravo 🙂

Owl Canvas Bag- £1.50 – other designs available

I’m a sucker for owls (have you seen the Sevenly tees this week?!) and this bag twit-twoo’d me at the tills, £1.50, sturdy, bargain. 🙂

Primark darkwash blue jeans- £7

I love Primark jeans. Despite having to ALWAYS go a size up which is very disheartening, when I do, they fit like a dream. My body shape is a bit odd, I have a small waist, BIG hips and tummy, and slim legs, and they fit me nicely. I often struggle to find jeans that are long enough, but Primark do a Regular and a Long leg length, also I buy the long and they’re perfect (I’m 5 foot eleven). The legs fit mine like gloves, and the pockets are nice too. The price is the cherry on top of the cake, these babies are £7. I’d happily pay up to £30 for them, but Primark can keep them at that price for as long as they want!

Amazon Kindle Generation 4- Available to buy online at Amazon.co.uk from £89

My last item is something that was actually given to me as an early birthday/university present. My birthday is August 31st, and I went on holiday on the 11th, so my Mum gave me this a little early so I could use it on holiday. It’s a Kindle! 🙂 I’m a big reader, so initially an ebook system didn’t appeal to me, but I soon realised how handy this little guy would be. No carrying of hundreds of books to lectures and back! I ended up getting 6 or seven books to plough through for my holiday, but had to get more when I finished them. I’m very grateful, and I cant wait for my 18th birthday to roll around now so I can go out and have an amazing night with my friends! 🙂

Okay! That ended up being a longer post than I anticipated!
I hope you’re all having wonderful days, another post should be up soon!

Don’t forget to smile,

Christie xoxo 🙂

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

