Music Favourites: Summer Soundtrack

22 Aug

Hello everyone!

I wanted to share a few music favourites, because they’ve been adding up and I love hearing about great songs from other blogs! I have narrowed it down though, so 5 songs/artists/albums it is! I’ve linked iTunes (US and UK) and Amazon UK for the first favourite, but it’s easy to navigate to each artist from there. 🙂

1. Maroon 5’s new album ‘Overexposed’
This album’s been on repeat since July! The newest release from Maroon 5, it includes Payphone which is such a catchy song, and is generally very poppy, with smooth falsetto vocals from Adam Levine. Some of my favourites are Beautiful Goodbye, One More Night, and  Doin’ Dirt.
You can buy Overexposed on iTunes (US) and iTunes (UK) as well as Amazon (UK).

2. Oh Land
Oh Land is a singer from Denmark that I first saw as a support act on Katy Perry’s California Dreams Tour in November, and she got a bit of a negative reception from the crowd. The show had started later than planned, people were impatient and she definitely doesn’t have the ‘Katy Perry’ sound, but I thought she was really good. I then heard her song ‘White Nights‘ on Girls, an HBO TV show, and her music has been featured on ‘Teen Wolf’, the MTV sci-fi show too. My favourite songs from Oh Land are Helicopter, Son of A Gun, and Wolf & I. She’s a bit electro-pop, with a folksy feel. That sounds so weird, but she’s excellent, just maybe not everyone’s cup of tea. The fact that her music’s been on an eclectic comedy and a popular cult MTV show about wolves says that it’s pretty diverse though, right? I actually really like the Jacob Plant Remix of Sun of A Gun, which I haven’t been able to find for download, but it is here on youtube. It’s Dubstep, be warned. 🙂
You can buy Oh Land’s music on iTunes in the US and UK.

3. Ed Sheeran’s album ‘+’
A favourite of mine since ‘A-Team’, Ed Sheeran’s dulcet tones are always so amazing to me. I love The City, and my friend May swears that Small Bump is her favourite song of all time. 😀
You can buy Ed’s music on iTunes US and UK and Amazon.

4. Taylor Swift’s new single ‘We Are Never Ever Ever Getting Back Together’
A huge Swifty fan, I learnt the words to this within an hour, and it was on my iPhone and iPod within 10 minutes of release in the UK.
SO CATCHY. I’ve recently been loving ‘Both Of Us‘ too, a collaboration between B.o.B and Taylor, but my top Taylor tune is definitely TANEEGBT. Woah. Mouthful. 😀
You can buy Taylor’s new song on both iTunes US and UK, and on the Google play store.

5. The Click Five’s song ‘Just The Girl’
Blast from the past….apparently. Just discovered this song from Cimorelli (an amazing a capella group made up of 6 sisters from Sacramento, the harmonies are stunning, check out their youtube here), who did a bit of improv harmonising at the end of one of their videos. I then  went and checked out the song, and it’s SO GOOD.  Typical cheesy pop, but definitely pop you won’t mind singing along to at the top of your voice. Just The Girl is my favourite and is definitely no exception to the top of your voice rule!
You can buy my favourite The Click Five song from iTunes US and UK. 🙂

After all those links I’m a little relieved now! 😀
Any songs that have been the soundtrack to your summer?

Don’t forget to smile,

Christie xoxo 🙂

Leave a comment! Makes my day!

